The „sunny side of Austria“ around Europe's biggest steppe lake is a paradise for both nature lovers and sport and wellness enthusiastics but also lovers of wine and culture will enjoy themeselves here (www.neusiedlersee.com). Below are listed some sights of the national park community of Tadten:

Nationalpark Neusiedlersee-Seewinkel

South of Tadten the natural paradise of HANSAG offers an oasis of peace and quiet. Great parts of the Waasen-Hansag belong to the preservation zone of the Neusiedler See-Seewinkel National Park. The great bustard, with up to 16 kg the heaviest extant bird capable of flight, breeds in the park's fen and marsh areas. The manifold fauna and flora of the Hansag Park can be easily explored on foot, by bicycle or on horseback.

Bridge of Andau

The nearby bridge of Andau, crossed by 70.000 Hungarian refugees in 1956, was chosen as location for the film „Der Bockerer III“. The so-called „road of freedom“ is lined by 90 objects, installations and sculptures by international artists.

Roman Catholic Church

With the support of the citizens the Roman-Catholic church was built in 1804 under the patronage of Prince Nikolaus Esterhazy and was consecrated to Archangel Michael. The glass windows were only completed in 1954, when a new annex to the church was built. At the last restoration a new tabernacle and a relief were made by the Burgenland sculptor Thomas Resetarits.

Community Center / Village Green

The center of the community forms a large village green. In the past years Tadten was repeatedly awarded a prize in the provincial flower contest.

Familie Hautzinger
Landschaft - Region Neusiedlersee

Auf der „Sonnenseite Österreichs“, rund um den größten Steppensee Europas, kommen Sport- und Wellnesshungrige, Natur- und Landschaftsfreunde, Wein- und Kulturliebhaber voll auf ihre Kosten (www.neusiedlersee.com). Nachstehend einige Besonderheiten der Nationalparkgemeinde Tadten:

Nationalpark Neusiedlersee-Seewinkel

Südlich der Ortschaft Tadten bietet das Naturparadies des HANSAG eine Oase der Ruhe und Entspannung. Weite Teile des Waasen-Hansag gehören zur Bewahrungszone des Nationalparks Neusiedler See-Seewinkel. In den urtümlich erhaltenen Sumpf- und Feuchtwiesen brütet die Großtrappe, die mit bis zu 16 kg Lebendgewicht der schwerste flugfähige Vogel der Welt ist. Die vielfältige Fauna und Flora des Hansag lässt sich bequem zu Fuß, mit dem Fahrrad oder am Pferderücken erkunden.

Brücke von Andau

Die nahgelegene Brücke von Andau, über die im Jahre 1956 70.000 Ungarn flüchteten, war Schauplatz des Films „Der Bockerer III“. Die sogenannte „Fluchtstraße“ wird von 90 Objekten, Installationen und Skulpturen von Künstlern aus aller Welt gesäumt.

Römisch-katholische Pfarrkirche

Mit Unterstützung der Gemeindebewohner wurde die röm.-kath. Pfarrkirche im Jahr 1804 vom Patronatsherrn Fürst Nikolaus Esterhazy erbaut und dem heiligen Erzengel Michael geweiht. Die Glasfenster erhielt die Kirche erst bei einem Zubau im Jahre 1954. Bei der letzten Renovierung wurden vom burgenländischen Bildhauer Thomas Resetarits ein neuer Tabernakel und ein Reliefs angefertigt.

Gemeinde-Ortskern mit Anger

Das Zentrum der Gemeinde bildet ein großer Anger. In den letzten Jahren wurde Tadten bereits einige Male beim Landes-Blumenschmuckwettbewerb ausgezeichnet.

Familie Hautzinger
Landschaft - Region Neusiedlersee